Making my style guide: inspiration.

Having completed the main elements of my project, I want to create a style guide for my brand to bring everything together. Because my branding has so many elements, a style guide will help to tie it all together.

I had a look at a few existing examples, as well as looking at the guidelines I used for my Connecting project: Kew Gardens postcards. Looking at the style guides, they all explain how the brand works, the background and how you need to apply the elements to ensure that there is a same theme running throughout the work to ensure that it does not change, otherwise it would run a risk of preaching copyright.

Looking at my work, I will need to ensure that I include the following:

  • Background of Chroma and about CVD
  • Brand elements (typeface and colour schemes)
  • Logo variations
  • Size limit of logo on print
  • Print formats
  • Resolutions for screen and formats
  • Visuals for portrait and landscape

By creating a style guide, it will show how the overall design and concept of my branding is different in comparison to the rest of the clothing brands out there, and how I have chosen to take different routes of design elements during the process.

Moreover, I intend to have my style guide printed, which can also be possibly used as a booklet to be given to customers if they were to buy my products, as it will give them an insight of how the brand has carefully thought about every step of the design process, making sure that Chroma has secured that gap in the market.

https://designschool.canva.com/blog/50-meticulous-style-guides-every-startup-see-launching/

http://assets.kew.org/files/Kew%20Brand%20Guidelines.pdf

Leave a Reply

