Science magazines and their layouts.

I had a look on the WHSmith website to find some inspiration for science magazines that I could write my article in. I thought a science magazine would be the most appropriate source to put my article in, considering my campaign is for the Science Museum, relating to science and art.

 

The first magazine I had a look at was Focus. The layouts of the pictures appeared very scattered. The designs of the layouts I thought were really effective for the magazine itself, considering there was a lot of information displayed on all of the pages. The use of multiple imagery helps to create a creative contrast between the amount of text and imagery. The use of design and information is apparent in this magazine, giving the layouts a modern and vibrant appearance. Although I could incorporate my design into this magazine, I feel that my layout would not mix with the other pages, as all of the pages consist of multiple photographs from various sources, whereas my article would resemble only one source – the cut out design for my poster campaign.

 

The other magazine I had a look at was How It Works. The pages were filled with diagrams to demonstrate the overall purpose of the magazine. The magazine layouts appeared to match the title of the magazine, which works in their favour, but still I face the issue of how I could incorporate my design to fit with the layout scheme of the rest of the magazine. Unless I were to put information around the image however, making it almost like an info graphic, it would not work in this magazine very well.

 

Lastly, the magazine New Scientist appeared to be the best suited for my design piece. The layouts of the magazine are fresh and minimal, keeping the image and the text separated to allow breathing space for the audience to read the information, and take in the imagery before/afterwards. What stood out for me more with the layout of New Scientist was some of the pages allowed a whole half of the layout to be purely imagery.

I thought this would work perfectly with the idea of my article, if I were to have the poster on the right to indicate the advertisement, but have the article about the exhibition on the left to explain what it is, and why it is significant to the magazine, audience and the Science Museum. I noticed that the front covers were kept very simple also, with the majority having a detailed image showcasing at the front with the text on the edges.

The benefit of writing an article in this magazine is that it would tell the story about the exhibition, as well as give a detailed analysis about how it has changed. Because the magazine is specifically for people who are interested in science or the stories behind it, my design idea would fit well with the project theme, as well as the magazine theme. This also helps to solve my previous issue of how I would incorporate all of the elements I wanted to include, as everything would be able to tie in together.

 

It is clear that New Scientist are enthusiastic about their art and illustrations, looking at some of their articles, it appears artistic with a lot of clever design pieces included on the covers. The relationship of science, art and design is something that I feel should be noted more about, which with this project, I will be able to show as the message in my final piece.

https://uk.pinterest.com/joeeden/joe-eden-editorial-work/

http://www.sayostudios.com/tag/how-it-works-magazine/

Leave a Reply

