Peter Callesen.

Peter Callesen is a 3D paper cut artist who focuses on the attention to detail using minimal materials. Peter uses the interesting quote in his about section saying:

By taking away all the information and starting from scratch using the blank white A4 paper sheet for my creations, I feel I have found a material that we are all able to relate to, and at the same time the A4 paper sheet is neutral and open to fill with different meaning.

What caught my attention about what he said about this was when he mentioned about starting on a blank canvas, something that is applied to everything when you are starting out with an idea. I thought this backed up my approach of my theme about creating something that is personal, but starting from the very basics.

I found these pieces that he had produced, and I felt they were a perfect example to back up my research so far. The pieces remind me of what goes on inside someone’s head, giving the audience an insight to what someone may be thinking of. My favourite was the sculpture of the brain and the story inside the shape of the head. I feel these two pieces could be incorporated together to help shape a good design piece in relation to my project.

I thought this would be a good lead to have with my ideas so far, which are science, personal, detail, layers and thoughts. Peter’s work has completely inspired me to go by this approach of looking into what goes on inside an individuals mind, and the science behind it. By incorporating all of these elements, I feel that I could create something different and unique for my campaign.

http://www.petercallesen.com/home/

Leave a Reply

