Pick Me Up, SONY World Photo Awards and Dutch Flowers.

We were given the chance to explore the annual exhibitions, Pick Me Up and the SONY World Photo Awards 2016. Both of the exhibitions show a variety of work from all different people around the world. Pick Me Up is an exhibition that presents graphic arts from new and upcoming designers. The work that I saw I felt this year was much more illustrative and showed a lot more typography in the styles than the previous year. Although typography is not my greatest level of interest, the artwork presented with this was astonishing.

Rachel Lillie’s work was a series of illustrations of the woods where she had gone exploring. What she is trying to show people in her work is to look at the details in what is around you. I felt this was a perfect example of what I am trying to demonstrate with my activity book. Her work is the perfect example of making the audience think about looking in the box, other than looking at the box as a whole. At the end of the exhibition, I noticed a book by Rob Ryan with his cut outs. Rob Ryan was a huge inspiration to me in the past, encouraging me to want to cut out in his style. The level of detail and concentration needed was intense, but the outcome was worth the time! The reminder of his incredible work has got me thinking about possibly coming back to do this style again at some point in another project.

The SONY World Photo Awards 2016 in my opinion was so incredible. There was not one single photo that I would say I liked the most, because every picture told a different story, and each photo was completely different. What I did pick out as I was walking around was that I particularly enjoyed looking at the photos that showed a different perspective on things. Taking Philip Joyce’s image of the horses at the races as an example, the photo of the horse from above caught my attention, because it is from an angle that you are not used to seeing from a horse.

Similarly, Cheung Yin Fang’s Creation of Love using the effects of a fast shutter speed was beautiful. I prefer split second shots than long exposures, because you can capture something that the human eye may not have picked up on when you look at it.

Lastly, I had a quick walk around the Dutch Flowers at the National Gallery. The paintings from the 17th/18th Century display realistic looking flowers of all types. The ‘Dutch Flowers’ include paintings from artists such as Ambrosius Bosschaert the Elder, Jan van Huysum, and Rachel Ruysch, who each display a picture perfect scenery of different flowers and objects around them. The attention to detail was to a point that I could not even make out the brush strokes, confusing me to how they even painted it so perfectly!

What I noticed about each of the exhibitions that I went to was the attention to detail in everything that was displayed. It was clear that the work was made for a purpose, and that everything had a reason behind it.

Leave a Reply

