FMP – Where do I start?

As we begin to think about our Final Major Project (FMP), it is essential that to get an open idea, you need an open mind to start with. We began by watching a video clip about a talk that went on about teaching art, or enhancing it. The idea I got behind the video was that you cannot think about the first thought as your ultimate thought. I also got the idea that you need to research in every way possible and dissect your information so thoroughly, it could be the most time consuming thing throughout a project. Thirdly, I grasped the idea of not doing something that others may necessarily be doing. Through research, you can combine your knowledge to create something brand new.

Points of Reference.

To get my ideas going, I went to the library and picked out a number of books that I felt interesting. I’m really fascinated by the idea of getting out of your comfort zone and travelling.

The first book I came across was called ‘Feel the fear… and beyond’ and ‘feel the fear and do it anyway’ by Susan Jeffers. I picked up this book, because I thought it would be a good insight to look at how you can conquer your fears and step out of your comfort zone. What I liked about the book especially was the demonstration of something called the Grid of Life; a block of 9 squares showing the 9 factors of life that incorporates fear. If one (for example, relationship) ends/fails, you still have 8 other squares to fulfill yourself. If you saw relationship on its own however, it would seem daunting, so having the 9 squares shows a positive light of everything else that is happening in your life that isn’t/hasn’t disappeared.

This sparked a few ideas to get me thinking about doing something that could possibly be productive to people. It then got me thinking about possibly making a journal for people to fill out, or have mixtures of drawings and photography(?).

I was intrigued by travel, so I thought Convergent Journalism would give me a thought about keeping things more specific. I want what I produce to convey some message. Because I’m interested in doing photography, the images would need to convey a message in a graphics way.

Similar to A guide to Semiotics, the book has endless questions asking people what something means and what it is showing. This book was useful to me, because it gave examples of how one same image or word could mean something different to other people. Or those different interpretations of things or words mean one same thing as a whole. This made me think about considering the judgments of things, leading to the target audience. My target audience could be anyone specific, and I would want the same message to be shown in everyone.

I thought it would be quite interesting to look at the British Photography in the 19th Century, and look at how photos were taken in that time period. Because photography was so much more limited and time consuming, photographs were taken so much more precisely. What caught my eye were D.O. Hill and R. Adamson’s Fairy Tree, mainly because of the length it took to take the photograph as well as the composition. I love photographs that focus on detail and perspectives, and it leaves you wanting more of that image such as where it was taken etc.

Roger Fenton’s Junction of the Lledr and Conway gave me the brainwave of the idea of designing something that helps people to find the ability to find satisfaction in whatever you may discover, and have a memory of that.

Following from my previous exhibit of Saul Leiter’s street photography, I came across a Street Photography book to have a closer look at the different photographers that do this. Photographers such as Arif Asci, Polly Braden, Siegfried Hansen and Alexey Titarenko all showed different perspectives of street photography in different forms. I felt this could give me a really good insight of how I could incorporate different styles of photography in my work and possibly experiment with each of these.

Lastly, the Treasures of Britain was a book that also caught my eye. The book showed different landmarks, sites and treasures that Britain has to offer that we may not completely know about. This book has really inspired me to think about designing possibly a book where it could demonstrate this in a more graphical way.

What do I do next?

To answer this, I considered on the next questions:

What would your client want?

Who is your client?

Who is your audience?

What could be my starting point?

From this, I will plan on doing a brainstorm to narrow down my ideas a lot more from what I have found in the hope of possibly finding an appropriate idea for my FMP. I would also want to talk to a variety of people and ask them what they would want if they were to go travelling, or what would inspire them to do what they would want to do.

Leave a Reply

