Photography of food.

 

I took some pictures of some natural foods from my cupboards that I can put onto my app as part of my photography. Inspired by the previous photographers of depth of field, compositions and colour, I experimented with different compositions and styles, playing around with the depth of field, and mainly the rule of thirds. I really liked getting up close with the food, showing nothing else but the product itself in its raw, natural state. I intended on doing it this way, because it shows people what the food looks like before it has been manipulated in any other way for cooking or eating.

I decided to keep to a plain white background for a lot of my pictures. Because my app is bright and colourful, I wanted the food to reflect this as well, and show people that good food can look, if not more, appealing than processed foods. The range of foods I have selected include different nutrients that is important for a person’s health and diet.

I developed a selection of the foods and made them look more appealing in the photograph, enhancing their colours to bring the richness out of each product. Because I wasn’t sure what image would look good on a small app, I developed a range of different compositions of them all. Alternatively, I also want the pictures to look good enough on a bigger screen such as a tablet or a PC, ensuring the quality of the pictures were of professional standard.

I found that the most difficult foods to take pictures of were the cheese and cherries, mainly because there was not much to the product itself. The cheese I could not find a good enough angle, or get the colours correct, which makes me debate on including it in the app. The cherries were difficult to get a good range of colour because they were so deep in colour. In some of the pictures, the exposure was under, so they appeared too dark to show any detail.

I definitely felt that the lentils and the carrots worked to their advantage. This could be because of their natural vibrance in colour, making it a lot easier to have them stand out against the white background, as well as show a lot of detail in the product itself. I much preferred showing the foods where I had not changed anything to them, exposing them to the audience to get an understanding of what they are and what they look like in their natural state.

Leave a Reply

