Packaging for my chip design.

I did a little bit more thinking about the packaging for my chip. Because it is a lot smaller, it will require smaller packaging. After looking online at reusable packaging, I thought instead of making it like other boxes for packaging, I would make it completely different by making the packaging into a tag; a tag that you can attach to anything for identification. I thought this was a really different idea, because you can use it as either a piece of hanging decoration, or use it for when you travel.

The wood itself would be made of liquid wood, a complete supplement to plastic, but it is biodegradable. There will be a plastic covering on one side made of Cellulose, a plastic I read in a book. The plastic is used for sweets, foods and is tear resistant as well as waterproof, making it perfect for the tag. The advantage of this also is it is good for composting and biodegradable, but it will not degrade with water(!).

A thought for my tag to open it, would be that it would clip open from inside, with a small dent on the sides to allow grip when unclipping the tag.

I experimented on how I could make my packaging look. I tried out the idea of having one circle for the packaging, but I felt that this was common in packaging. I wanted my design to be sustainable but also different. So I came up with using the 7 circles.

I experimented on how I could make my packaging look. I tried out the idea of having one circle for the packaging, but I felt that this was common in packaging. I wanted my design to be sustainable but also different. So I came up with using the 7 circles.

This was the outcome of my packaging idea for the Nutrachip. I did a packaging example for when it is delivered, and when it is shown in the shops. I wanted to keep the text as minimal as I could, to draw people into it more.

There are only the bits of information that you need to know about the product, as there will be a brief booklet inside on how to use it, like any other device. I felt really driven from the packaging details of the Fitbit and Apple’s packaging, allowing only the product to showcase itself.

On the shop bought package, there is the details with the device on show. I thought it would be appropriate to add a small phrase at the end, to draw people into thinking more about the product and therefore wanting to buy it. I purposely did not add any colour on it, because I want the device to be the subject of attention, alongside with the package.

The package I decided on having 7 circles to represent each nutrient, similar to inside the device etc. I thought it would be a nice touch to engrave the logo on the package (made out of liquid wood), and you can use it as a tag, photo frame or decoration after, reducing waste. The way to access the device is by clicking the circle open. (I will be bearing in mind that the package would be security protected in the shops to prevent people from getting into the package and stealing the device).

Ref: Plastic Packaging: Interactions with Food and Pharmaceuticals, edited by Otto G. Piringer, A. L. Baner

http://science.howstuffworks.com/environmental/green-tech/sustainable/5-plastic-substitutes6.htm

Leave a Reply

