Quote inspiration.

I watched two films, Into the Wild and Secret life of Walter Mitty. Both films represent adventure throughout. As I was watching both of these films, I was picking up on phrases and sayings that the people were saying throughout. As I listened, they were encouraging adventure and freedom.

I thought this would link really well with the idea concept of my design piece. I wanted quotes/phrases to motivate people to go beyond city landscapes and to explore more than the view from a train window.

I was really moved and captivated by the phrases that were being used in the films, and I would like to use these on my posters. I would really like after the project to turn the images and phrases into a book and make a motivational book based on inspirational quotes, as there is so much that I could develop with this. There are 3 particular quotes I have found and I would like to experiment my work with these, and see how they would fit with the images that I produce.

“The sea’s only gifts are harsh blows, and occasionally the chance to feel strong. Now I don’t know much about the sea, but I do know that that’s the way it is here. And I also know how important it is in life not necessarily to be strong but to feel strong. To measure yourself at least once. To find yourself at least once in the most ancient of human conditions. Facing the blind deaf stone alone, with nothing to help you but your hands and your own head.”

“Two years he walks the earth. No phone, no pool, no pets, no cigarettes. Ultimate freedom. An extremist. An aesthetic voyager whose home is the road. Escaped from Atlanta. Thou shalt not return, ’cause “the West is the best.” And now after two rambling years comes the final and greatest adventure. The climactic battle to kill the false being within and victoriously conclude the spiritual pilgrimage. Ten days and nights of freight trains and hitchhiking bring him to the Great White North. No longer to be poisoned by civilization he flees, and walks alone upon the land to become lost in the wild.”

“To see the world, things dangerous to come to, to see behind walls, draw closer, to find each other, and to feel. That is the purpose of life.”

Leave a Reply

