Grid layouts.

As I was sketching my ideas, I was beginning to get an understanding of how the pages may look with each article; I was able to see the images I would need to use and roughly how many to fit onto the page, all vary in sizes and positions.

I began thinking about the structure of my magazine layouts, and how I would position each of my layouts. I thought about grid layouts and how they are used today. In magazine spreads, there are two types of layout grids, vertical and horizontal. Depending on the style of the magazine, all of mine are coincidentally vertical, so I would need to prioritize my images and text to that type of format.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When considering layouts also, the guttering would need to be taken into consideration. When binding pages together, a part of the paper is attached and folds in, meaning if you had no border or space around the edges, you may lose some of your text or image. In terms of the grid structure, I feel a minimum requirement for an article should be either 3 or 4 grids per page. That way, the information on the page is allowed room to move around the page and add a little bit of variation to the design layout. I really like the use of having a lower top margin and a higher bottom margin on the spreads, again to give the page space and not clutter it from corner to corner.

I intend to also have a go at using the golden ratio sequence, as this could give a really nice appearance to the page in terms of how the image is presented, whether is be going across two pages or is standing alone on one page. The golden ratio is a very popular technique when imagery is included on pages, as it gives a nice aesthetic look.

I came across this tip also when considering focal points on my page. It suggests about where your eye is attracted to most when looking at a page, whether it be a magazine spread or a book. I thought this was a really good tip and I had a go on it with a variety of books, magazines, pictures and posters that I could find around me. It was really interesting to see whether this tip was true or not, and the majority were where the page was surprisingly not correct, possibly due to the layout it was given, and the sequence simply did not flow with the design. I feel really inspired by this idea, and I will use it on any layout that I will be using in future to see whether my work runs parallel to this theory or not, and if my work benefits from this tip.

I then decided to look at grid structures for my chosen magazines, Huck magazine and possibly Photoplus. As I was sketching over a few random articles that I had come across, I noticed that there was no strict correlation of grid structure on each article. The grid layouts all depended on the style of the page, alongside with the amount of text and type of imagery that is being displayed with the articles. I thought this could work to my advantage because it allows me the freedom of being able to plan a grid structure according to my design, instead of having to manipulate it to fit the rest of the magazine.

With Huck magazine especially, you can see a clear grid structure on every page, but they are all different also, depending on the style. I really like the freedom this shows but also the same theme running throughout, which I would like to implement in my spreads.

Ref: http://www.designersinsights.com/designer-resources/using-layout-grids-effectively

http://www.instantshift.com/2012/01/06/focal-points-in-design-layout/

http://www.webdesignerdepot.com/2014/10/the-secret-of-grid-layouts-and-the-mistake-youre-probably-making/

How to understand and use design and layout, 2nd Edition, David Dabner

Leave a Reply

