The point of exclamation mark and ellipsis.

I did a little bit of research to understand why people use exclamation marks and ellipsis in sentences, despite it may not be grammatically correct. Exclamation marks are used essentially to emphasise a point to one another; when used informally in dialogue, you may use it more than one time to overemphasise your point:

I forgot my key.

I forgot my key!

I forgot my key!!!

Because it is a strong command, it is not formal to put it on business letters or statements to people you may not be familiar with. It can sometimes look aggressive to one another. Sometimes, a space is left after the word such as “no kidding !” to show the pause in reaction. I thought this was really interesting to consider for my punctuation mark.

Screen Shot 2015-06-08 at 12.40.59

Screen Shot 2015-06-08 at 12.41.23

Screen Shot 2015-06-08 at 12.42.29

 

The ellipsis similarly shows exaggeration in a sentence, but includes a pause within the sentence. Usually, it is used when someone is tailoring off when talking to someone about something:

I cannot believe you did that…

I thought … well she thought

I’m not sure green is his colour…

Because when speaking to someone and you pause for a reaction there is a second gap. Communicating through digital media, you do not get this gap. An ellipsis helps to ‘fill’ that gap in when you want a pause for reaction, or trying to emphasise the way you are trying to speak to someone, as if you were speaking to them in person.

Understanding these have given me a good idea of using something similar to this, to get some idea of what I should use when designing my punctuation mark. I could try implementing both of these in my design to come up with the ‘sarcastic mark.’ Because these designs are so simple, it has given me the idea of creating something simple also, which could then be used and/or put beside the other common punctuation marks in the family. I want it to also match with the punctuation mark family if you were to put it beside the others on a keyboard on either a mobile phone, or a computer keyboard.

http://www.whitesmoke.com/exlamation-point-usage

Leave a Reply

