Workshop with Carlos.

Last Friday, we had a mini workshop activity with designer and illustrator Carlos from Brighton. He came in to help us with opening our minds and to allow creativity to take over our brains, enhancing ideas. Because there is no hope in heaven that I can draw, I found this activity extremely challenging and hard to enjoy because I was getting frustrated at myself, but it still taught me a new method of how to think:

photo 1

photo 2

photo 3One activity he got us a sheet of paper with squiggles all over, and told us to draw what we saw in between the lines (negative space). For example, in a triangle some people saw a pizza.

photo 1-2

photo 4

photo 5We then got to play a game where he would start off with the word fish, and we would draw a picture of anything that linked with that word, and so on. This was an experiment to help us to come up with new adventurous ideas, which we could also use this method in our projects to expand our ideas and thoughts also.

photo 2-2

photo 3-2Similarly, we got put into groups, and given a word, we then had to do the same within our groups, and then we got given a separate sheet of paper, and drew on the page anything that linked with that word, we would then pass it to someone else on our team, and they would continue to draw on our page with ideas that spring to their mind, and so on. (My word was sport)

photo 4-2

photo 5-2I thought that this workshop was interesting, and I especially enjoyed the activity with the game. I didn’t enjoy at all the first or last activity, purely because my mind went into a mind block, and I also didn’t seem to grasp the idea of the last activity (no surprise there…).

Although it was frustrating for me to get into an activity like this, it is good to be able to get out of your comfort zone completely to try something new. I learnt from this that it is okay to be able to do this. Whether it helped or not, it still teaches you to know what method may or may not work for you. Because everyone works differently, these activities may work better with some than others.

Leave a Reply

