Designing my app.

050814-ddp-lgWhen designing my app, I need to think about the trends of phones and the changing of sizes as phone develops over the years. It has been proven that bigger screens are becoming more popular, and the stats show that in 2014, the most popular device for surfing the web was the iPhone 5 and 5s’s.because the sizes of screens all vary, I thought I would design my app on a screen where most people search the web on. Although there would be an inch or two difference between phones, the layout would however remain the same or very similar for all model types.

Dimension for iPhone 5C (approx.):

IMG_3294

IMG_3293Screen = 3.5 x 2 inch

IMG_3296

IMG_3295Whole = 4.5 x 2.25 inch

(I also looked at the banner at the top of the screen, and I made sure I left room for it; I calculated approx. 1cm)

final app icon showing final appDesigning my app icon:

I designed my app using a template I got online to help me get the correct scale and proportions. I decided to keep the design of the money in layers and have the wine glass and knife beside each other. After layering them in illustrator, I drew the outlines of the objects and merged them altogether.

What I decided to change with my design in comparison with others was not having a rounded rectangle/square going around the perimeter, but allowing two corners to go ‘outside of the lines’. I thought this would make the reader look towards this app more, because it is different in the original style that other apps are like. Although I wanted to keep the app simple, I decided to keep the title shown at the bottom when you scroll across the page towards the app to save overcrowding in the app icon.

I then decided to change my icon slightly by adding a little more tone to the images using Photoshop. I thought that having more tone and shading in the icon would make it stand out a little bit more.

final app 2

 Designing my homepage:

I’ve taken a lot of inspiration from the app Gourmet Society. I especially really like the simplicity they put in the app, but it was still interesting to look at the homepage especially as it was different to a normal options page that would be listed. I tried out all different wooden themes similar to the app. Because I wanted to keep it simple, I didn’t want to add too much detail to the theme, especially because I have a lot of information on my app.

photo 1

photo 2I wanted to keep the overall theme neutral and simple that could apply to all aspects to my app. I didn’t want to have a plain background for my homepage design; otherwise it could look too boring.

I made all my images using illustrator, then putting them together and putting it all onto Photoshop. I put them all onto Photoshop. Because I can then edit photos and blend them in with another if I wanted to, making the app look more realistic. I really liked the idea of having wood as the background, because it gives the homepage some definition and separates it from the other pages with the listed information on, giving some contrast to the page. For the user also, it would help them to see where they are and help them to understand which page is a main page, and which page is a page that branches off from the main page also.

Screen Shot 2015-01-23 at 12.50.12

Designing the selected topic:

When you select an actual topic, you will be directed to a list of the options chosen for you. I thought for the reader, it would be easier to design each topic under a different colour:

Screen Shot 2015-01-23 at 12.49.51Travel = Blue

Information = Green

Favourites = Yellow

Social = Purple

My Profile = Red

Food = Orange

Leave a Reply

