My 3 Weeks of Rest.

Having about 3 weeks off to do exactly anything I wanted to do I must admit was a dream. The thought of waking up and knowing I could have the opportunity to do what I wanted, when I wanted. Besides going to work near enough all the time to try and earn that little bit of cash I was begging for over Christmas, I thought I would share with you what I have done and what I have seen.

It may not seem relevant, but in the time I have been away, I have been exploring new adventures and experiencing new things around new places and events. This Christmas period has certainly been a successful one! Although there is never enough time in the world to do exactly what you would like to do, it has been worthwhile to take a good long break and recharge my batteries, ready for what is to come in the next few months.

IMG_1840Annie Mac – One of the best nights going! The lights and the bass were insane. Although my legs feel like they were going to drop off after a few hours of non-stop dancing, being able to experience a DJ set in a place like Brixton most certainly is an experience you would not have wanted to miss.

IMG_1837Alesso – Granted, I took advantage of the DJ’s that were playing last month. The graphics of the whole set however was equally amazing! The way that the people who control the lighting were able to set everything up in such a way to keep in time with the beat of the music is not as easy as it looks. Although the experience is fun, I would always recommend looking around and seeing what the DJ’s do in particular to make their music stand out so much and connects with the crowd.

IMG_2618Hanging out with friends – Being with your best friends certainly makes everything 100x better. You are constantly learning new things and catching up with lost ones you may not have been able to see in such a long time due to either university or lost contact in some way. Friends are a huge aspect to what inspires you to be who you are and what you become.

IMG_2542

IMG_2530The Nutcracker – A ballet that left my jaw open throughout. After a few too many glasses of champagne and a meal that left me a food baby (before Christmas, which was worrying), the set was an outstanding piece of elegance and rhythm from both the musicians and the performers, forming in perfect sync with another. The setting was beautiful and showed you do not need words to understand a storyline, as the body language of the performers showed it all.

IMG_2670Work – During the break, I worked a lot. During the Christmas break everyone seemed in high spirits, despite how busy it had got! The whole store was decorated and gifts were being thrown at us. We even made our own Christmas tree out of cardboard (Now that was a creative task) and did our own Secret Santa!

Table Signs

Table Signs

The Christmas Card Design I Won

The Christmas Card Design I Won

The hours were hard, but because my manager had hung up the personalized Christmas card I did (shown previously on my blog, and yes, I WON), and the table numbers I made, it made me appreciate everything a lot more, especially hearing the positive comments from both.

IMG_2706Exercise – Granted, I have taken a week off. But my new years resolution is to get my fitness up! I love bright colours, and my new personalized trainers are my absolute fav piece of clothing I own! Fitness has been proven to increase your brainpower, enabling you to concentrate more – Happy running!

IMG_2792

IMG_2804Love – It’s been over a year since I met my boyfriend, and we celebrated by going to Winter Wonderland for the first time. The lights and atmosphere was incredible! Everything lit up beautifully and made Hyde Park look like it really was in wonderland, incredible!

Big Narstie

Big Narstie

New Years Eve – Again, another time when I pair up with some of my favourite friends and reunite with people I hadn’t seen in such a long time! Sometimes, it’s good to get out of your comfort zone and risk going somewhere you’re not entirely sure of. I went to Concorde 2 in Brighton where hip hop artists had been playing, and being a little skeptical at first, it was in fact a night I couldn’t forget!

Although there is more to what I have done such as cleaning out my room and sleeping, but its good to relax and enjoy having the time off you need, getting time to yourself to think and change what needs changing really can make all the difference.

I’d love to hear what you did! And to give me some inspiration to really get adventurous in the next few months! (Under student finances of course…)

Leave a Reply

