Evaluation.

My whole project was based around the title Motivation for a book cover. My overall theme was aimed for teenagers and adults. Because I had a week to produce this book cover, I had to be extremely precise on the research I looked at, and come up with a final piece suitable for the whole target audience.

final jacketThe idea I got from my front cover was because if the idea of having the book be about everything relating to motivation, because I was concerned of linking the cover to one specific topic. For example, if I used weights people who don’t like working out may see it and perceive it to be about the wrong idea.

Screen Shot 2014-12-10 at 17.26.23

Screen Shot 2014-12-10 at 17.24.21

Screen Shot 2014-12-10 at 17.27.40 copy

The semiotics of my whole cover I tried doing differently but well. I did the objects in such a way that you would know briefly what they are by looking at them, however you have to read the book and look closer at the cover in order to see and understand what they are. The objects would also resemble parts of he book also.

The cover was quite easy to produce, by going over people to create the silhouettes, and the same for the objects. I kept the colour blue because the colour s bright and not too depressing. The rich colour stands out more from the rest of the books when you put it between other books on shelves. The colour represents enthusiasm also, which is another reason to why I had used it.

Screen Shot 2014-12-10 at 17.20.01

Screen Shot 2014-12-10 at 17.30.20 A possible noise I would get with this book is that other books would appear more colourful and stand out more than my book when you put it against my book. I tried to make my book look different from all of the other books as well as books that link also with motivation – I went along with a different colour theme and design to make it more interesting.

Screen Shot 2014-12-10 at 17.28.52

Screen Shot 2014-12-10 at 17.21.22Being given only a week to produce it, I think the cover for my book works well. I like the overall design and the simplicity of it. The blue also brings out the colour of the book and attracts the eye of the audience. If I were to improve on this book cover, I would have added more attention to detail on the overall decoration. I would have also made the images look more precise, or do a design that relates to image manipulation.

By having just less than a week  to produce this, it has taught me a lot about fitting in information and research, as well as putting in developments AND still come up with a final piece. Having a short period to do a project works well in the fact that it keeps you focused, and you have no time to leave anything until last minute like longer projects may have a tendency to do. Personally, I prefer having a mix of longer and shorter projects. The longer projects gives you more time to refine and develop your ideas, however the shorter projects I find practices your timing and consistency, as well as making sure your research is precise and focused specifically on what you need to include.

Leave a Reply

