The Golden Ratio.

The Golden Ratio is based on the Fibonacci Sequence (an infinite sequence where a number equals the sum of the two numbers before it- 0, 1, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 12…), and the Golden Ratio shows the relationship between the two proportions. When you plot all the points on a page layout it produces a spiral.

golden-ratio-fibonacci-sequence

It has been believed that it the sequence has been going on for 4,000+ years and was mainly revolved around nature, and some argue that Egyptians used it to build their pyramids! It is mainly used for web design layouts, but also Creative Bloq used these examples to show how it is also used in art and architecture:

Screen Shot 2014-12-05 at 11.31.25

Screen Shot 2014-12-05 at 11.34.12

It is also used for magazine articles, an example shown here of an article out of Creative review itself:

image

Although it is a good terminology, I don’t think I would use it specifically for my design layout, because the ratios wouldn’t fit correctly. As shown below, you can see there isn’t a clear format that would fit with it very well.

Screen Shot 2014-12-05 at 11.42.03

Screen Shot 2014-12-05 at 11.43.08

Magazine layouts

Every magazine you look at has a number of crucial elements needed for that page spread. All of these are useful for creating a successful article. I have found these spreads, which I thought was a good summary of everything:

p_gridLayout_s_1

p_gridLayout_s_2

However, I came across this on Youtube, and figured out I could use it more than once on my design to I tried out a few more.

Screen Shot 2014-12-05 at 11.51.00

Screen Shot 2014-12-05 at 11.52.14

I have worked out that my web design DOES in fact use the sequence without me even realising! Because I have made the layout all in proportion of everything, it all links with each other and goes in sequence.

Leave a Reply

