Fashion posters.

For my front cover, I thought it would be most appropriate to use photography. Because the subculture is closely related to fashion, quite often the images that are taken are posed. Today, they especially use the style as a statement, refining the look to a cool-chic look for both men and women.

I decided to look at posters from well-known brands, and selected a few out of them. I decided to look at these to help me with my font cover, in order to see the type they used, and how they have promoted the product in the image. Each one is completely different to another, which I thought was interesting when analyzing each one.

fcw2_0

frenchconnection_printadscaps_17784x511_0

French Connection:

The French Connection posters I thought were my favourite. They all have a slogan/phrase that goes over the image to make a statement about what the model is wearing, and how it becomes the subject in the poster itself. The slogan is directed (in the majority) over the top of the image itself, purposely covering some of the products it is promoting.

The reason to why I would think they have done this is because they want you to look at the phrase before the product, because although the product is supposed to be the main focus, the phrase helps to identify it against the rest of the image.

All of the text is in the colour white, to help stand it out from the image. I also think that white is very professional looking, complimenting the simplicity and neutrality of the brand itself. I believe that the phrase itself has become a photo manipulation, which I think is quite interesting. I really like the idea of the poster ‘From sketch, to store’ where it shows the drawn version and then the original when it is complete.

dunhill_voice_ii_fiennes_dps_569_0

Dunhill:

Dunhill has taken a fairly different approach, they have deliberately separated the text from the image, but they have also added MUCH more than just a slogan/phrase. The two things that catch my eye most when I look at the posters are the logo, and the black and white image.

The black and white looks very vintage and old school, and this works for the whole design concept of this poster. I especially like how they have used a simple backdrop in the image. If this were to go on a cover however, I would need to be careful of how effective it would look. Looking back at the idea of photo manipulation, I could incorporate the old sense of the subculture into today, and how I can portray it through the advanced technology (?).

Moreover, I much prefer having no text on this image, and having it separate from the image itself. I think that the image this way looks much more striking, especially having the focus of the image centered against the background.

80_years_of_the_lacoste_l.12.12_polo__the_saga_an_animated_film__2012web_0

Lacoste:

Lacoste shocked me! They used a completely different way of promoting their product of using it as part of the background! I really like how they have done this idea and manipulated their clothing into other forms of imagery. Again, they have used minimal text on the page itself, to keep the audience’s eyes focused on the image itself, and unveil what is actually making up the image.

Again with these fashion style posters, they have kept the imagery very simple, but there is a lot of colour used in these images. They consist a lot of bold greens, reds, blues etc. therefore, adding lots of text and decoration could overcomplicate the design and lose the effectiveness for customers. Personally, I think text works well with this poster design, but for a front cover, I think the text should be ditched completely and just let the image ‘do the talking’ for itself, that way when people read more into it inside the magazine, they can find out what it is promoting.

levis3_0

Levis:

These posters are another favourite of mine. What I love most about them was you immediately get a carefree feel when you look at it. They have incorporated everyday life in the posters, promoting their product being worn in everyday activities. The slogan itself appears quite informal and appropriate for the poster, as it describes how you can wear them and what people use with them.

Similarly to French Connection, the slogan helps to identify the product. Moreover, the product is not the main focus in the poster. I like the way they have subtly included the promoted product in the poster, because the subtleness of the product and the bold statement compliment each other.

The font of the slogan itself is very informal and incorporates a ‘fun’ feel to it. The text as well is wrapped around the focus of the product without overwhelming it, which helps to draw your eye closer at it.

m-qgProh8cVTN6cQn0

Topshop:

Again, Topshop have a very different approach, the posters only include the Topshop title, and shows in the majority of the girls completely made up very glamorous as if they were heading somewhere important. A lot of the posters either have a very dark or bold backdrop, depending on what the style is promoting. For example, if the product were promoting clothing that appears in blacks, greys, browns etc. then the backdrop would be a black or a dark grey colour.

The posters that promote Topshop I would say are most appropriate for a front cover design, because the title of the brand creates a statement in itself. However, I would much prefer not having the title if I were to use this style and technique in my front cover design, purely because the magazine is not promoting this brand, it is promoting what the brand is designing and how the model is showing it to the public.

I also thought about how I could position the model if I were to manipulate a photo to help incorporate the style. Personally, I don’t really like the full body shots unless it was a double page spread inside the magazine itself. In my opinion, having the whole body shown in the picture reveals too much, and I would like to play around with composition and zooming and colours and body language and many more!

photo-10

I did a couple more quick and very brief sketches after doing this bit of research, however I’m still not happy with having a background, or having the figure at a distance etc. the sketches I’m most happy with is the one on the bottom left. I think the other images relate TO MUCH to fashion and not representing the subculture itself. I like the idea of stripping the parts of the human off and revealing only the aspects of what a typical greaser girl/boy would wear and look like, instead of having just the clothes as the iconic statement.

Screen Shot 2014-11-16 at 15.22.00

This got me thinking about how I would do this… in my previous A Level work; I have already experimented with photo manipulation, which I could link with this! It’s also got me thinking in maybe looking more into photo manipulations.

The reason why I think manipulations would be appropriate, is because Creative Review as a design magazine, and not a fashion magazine. Moreover, I want the cover to symbolize the subculture, and inside will be about how it has changed today but also similar, therefore the features of the front cover should resemble this.

Leave a Reply

