Postcard 2: Further adjustments!

Before

Before

Screen Shot 2014-11-09 at 18.53.01

Screen Shot 2014-11-09 at 18.51.08

Screen Shot 2014-11-09 at 18.52.45

I looked back at my modern design, and I thought more about the target audience. I thought the full-stop at the end could seem a little too biased, considering the post card is promoting a conference, meaning there will be mixed opinions in the crowd. I thought about using speech marks and/or a question mark at the end. I also thought about changing the A on the Arial, to try and merge it more with the sentence perhaps (?)

Screen Shot 2014-11-09 at 18.58.16

I didn’t like how the A was in line with the other text, so I put it back in the original place. I really liked the effect of the speech marks as well as the question mark on the end. I prefer the effect of using both the speech marks and the question mark, because it shows how other people would say it, but also still raises the question as to whether the quote is really true or not.

Screen Shot 2014-11-09 at 18.57.37

Screen Shot 2014-11-09 at 19.00.48

I then played around with Neville Brody’s quote in replacing it on the front as he quotes “Arial is a rubbish font.” By quoting this and having his name on the front, it raises awareness of a famous persons opinion. I tried making sure that his name wasn’t the center of the page, because although the quote is potentially famous, the main focus is the font itself.

Because I was having trouble with showing the ‘rial’ in the postcard when it came to printing, I decided to give it a more faded affect by playing with the shadows behind it.

Screen Shot 2015-05-20 at 14.48.40

Screen Shot 2014-11-09 at 19.17.59

Screen Shot 2014-11-09 at 19.18.43

I decided to try the quote at the back of the post card instead. I think that this worked really well in contrast with the front design. The composition I kept in the corners of the post card, similarly to the rest of the text, and I kept the font colour very simple and faded, so that it doesn’t become the only focus at the back.

Leave a Reply

