Postcard 2: Examples for inspiration.

To try and get the best possible outcome for my design, I have decided to look at all different examples, which I could use for my postcards. I first looked at posters, which used the Arial type. What I noticed on the majority was that they used simple colours, because of the masses of decoration they used on the page itself. I noticed that the compositions of the posters were positioned in ways that the font itself was part of the design.

Behance

Behance

Sullivan Hess

Sullivan Hess

Deviantart

Deviantart

The difference with these posters is that the font is combined with other forms of text. Although I like some of the styles used, it is not in my interest to use more than one font. I noticed the colours appear quite dull, possibly because there is a lot of different type used, the combination of bold colours and mixed typography could be too harsh on the eye when looking at it from a screen or as a poster. Because the Arial font is clear to read, I’ve noticed especially on the website Tommy, they have enhanced that font and increased the type from other fonts to emphasize the point they are trying to convey to the reader, so that their eye is attracted to that part first, and then they read more to know what it is about.

photo-5

1

2

I did a few examples myself, I noticed from the previous posters, that they used negative spacing in some areas to bring out the poster more. I thought it would be a clever idea to put that in my designs. The first design I thought worked well. I prefer the design where the space of the A is not showing, so it just looks like a triangle, bringing out the abstract art more. I didn’t add the text on as I wanted to see what the design itself would look like. I know I would need to improve on the compositions of the letters for example the r could be placed different so it merges more with the other type.

3

The second idea I also thought was effective. The different layers and shading is simple, however I feel with a postcard design it is most appropriate, especially when you are promoting a typeface. I’m not sure whether it is too ‘grey’ for a postcard. Personally, if it was in line with other postcards, I do think whether it would attract my eye more?

4

I then went to look further. Because I couldn’t find many poster examples that specifically used Arial, I thought about looking at Helvetica, because it is a similar font I thought I would have a look at what designs could have been appropriate for that type, which also may compliment my type.

03_helvetica_poster

I noticed in two designs that the text is designed so that it merges with the background also, such as the H and the I becomes part of the line in the background. The text is not covering the whole page, this is done cleverly so that the size of the font and the colours are not overpowering each other and therefore it would look too busy on the layout.

02_helvetica_poster

01_Helvetica_ad_bff

Slightly similarly, the design with the font type split has deliberately used a very bold red colour for the background, but a subtle blue to put on some of the text. I have noticed that the background has parts of text that has almost been split and merged with another letter, creating a pattern out of letters. The angle also separates slightly the text from the background and the information text, showing the reader that it is still a design and not just a page of merged lettering. I like the idea of using limited colouring, because the text is formally the image itself, using an overload of colour will take away the main focus of the postcard.

05_helvetica_space

This image I thought was interesting and a completely different approach. The issue with if I used this as my design, is that the reader would not understand why I would have manipulated it in that style, unless I had a slogan to hint. I think the design itself is interesting and different, using negative space and a space-like feel to the image to bring it together, adding water at the top to bring out the letter more. It is certainly one to consider in future projects if I was to be manipulating photography. Moreover, the postcard is promoting the font in a library therefore if I was to manipulate the text, it would have to be linked with the library in some way such as pencils, books, buildings etc.

photo-6

1

2

3

I tried out a few examples myself, the first design I did not like at all. I felt the colours weren’t right for the design, but also the design itself was wrong. I tried using the example of merging letters together but I felt the letters I chose did not merge well at all. I didn’t like the composition either or the title mixed with it. I tried putting the title in the gap I highlighted which I thought looked really blank, but I felt it didn’t suit at all.

4

The second design I quickly produced to try and see what I could get out of it. I used different types of Arial fonts, which was available on my computer and made almost like a collage of them in different sizes. I think that the bold colours compliment each other really well, and only colouring one set emphasizes the design more. Because I just duplicated the sets and resized them, I know it will look better if I used this as my final design to do them all individually.

deepubalan.com

deepubalan 2

I thought I would look further into actual typography posters, the ones I thought stood out most were the plain ones with limited text and colour. I thought these ones were crisp and simple, but very professional. I like how they have used the text itself and manipulated it, either enlarging parts, distorting parts of even duplicating certain letters. The compositions are mostly on the side and rarely in the center. Personally, I felt this worked better than if the text was centered, as it enables you to want to look at the whole postcard, as the text is focused in just one area.

behance

The colours are black and white, I thought this was appropriate because of the design of the text, adding colour would lose the effectiveness of the postcard, as the pattern of the text is essentially the part you want to be focused on, not about what colour it is being used with.

photo-7

1

I went further with my designs and decided to create some more examples from what I have researched. The first postcard I thought would look nice with a little bit of colour. The look of the ‘L’ reminds me of a weird piece of artwork. I tried making the type look like it was heading into the distance, however I’m not sure it worked out. I wanted to put colour on it because I felt that it looked TOO black and white, and the letter ‘L’ doesn’t give an amazing effect like other letters may do, because there’s no variation.

2

I left the first design and took a different approach. I enlarged a letter A and drew the outline, I then halved the size of it and redrew lines, so effectively it looks like the outlines of two A’sin the center. I chose to do it in the center because I have smaller amounts of text going either side to separate everything, and I wanted the reader to look at the whole postcard and figure out what it was saying. I think this design is nice, but I feel like it is missing something, which I cannot figure out what…

3

This is my favourite of the three. I came up with the slogan because from the research, Arial is known to be a duplicate of Helvetica, therefore a ‘fake compared to the real thing.’ I think this would really attract the attention of the audience, because the slogan is quite abrupt and to the point, then seeing the faded part of Arial gives a whole new assumption to what the postcard could be about. Although it is limited in colour, I feel it doesn’t need to have anything else added on without it looking too busy or lose the main focus of the slogan.

Leave a Reply

