Who’s hungry? The not-so-guilty ULTIMATE comfort food.

3

Looks good, right?

As part of another weekly task, we were given the task this week to eat something unusual or something we have never tried before. I’m a fussy eater, but I have still tried everything in my fridge. After about an hour of walking around Tesco lost of what to find that was unusual, I decided on venison burgers.

Why venison burgers? Mainly I chose it because I am a healthy eating freak who loves cooking and baking, but I didn’t want to make a huge Coca-Cola cake which I know I will just indulge into myself…

1

Venison is a very lean piece of meat which doesn’t take a lot of spices and requirement to cook with, meaning you need to be careful when cooking it to make sure you don’t overcook it and lose its flavor or juiciness.

7

I decided to make some homemade potato chips using ordinary oven baked potatoes and sweet potatoes, seasoning them very lightly using smoked paprika, salt, a little rosemary and pepper. I also made my own burger sauce using BBQ sauce and mayo (I added a little Peri Peri mayo in also, purely for the experimentation).

The venison burgers I marinated with Worcester sauce, pepper and salt for a couple of hours, that’s all! I made sure the spices were kept very simple in everything otherwise it would be too overpowering…

2

The bacon I used pancetta because its healthier and you get a more crispy outcome when you grill it, I halved the strips and weaved them – fiddly yes, but the presentation was amazing! (Hello Masterchef…).

6

5

Lastly, I TRIED caramelizing onions but it didn’t go so well… the first batch just went black and the second had limited flavor so I left that and threw it away 😦

I cooked the burgers for about 5 minutes each side only; as I flipped the side over, I put cheese on top to melt – wow.

What’d you think of this result? Crispy chips, crispy bacon, toasted bun, VERY juicy burger and gooey cheese (just let that sink in for a minute).

4

I will admit this was one of my best dishes done in a long time. The cooking process only took about 40 minutes and about an hour prep time – but it was actually so worth it! An unusual piece of meat to cook but completely delicious!

Point…? The point of these exercises is purely to open your mind to creativity and trying new things – give it a go, seriously!

Here’s a few websites if you want to see where I got my cooking inspirations from:

– Caramelising onions: http://allrecipes.com/howto/caramelizing-onions-step-by-step/

– Home-made chips: http://www.jamieoliver.com/recipes/vegetables-recipes/smoky-mixed-potato-wedges

– Juicy Venison burger recipes: http://www.wideopenspaces.com/top-6-venison-burger-recipes/ 

Leave a Reply

